DWI PROGRAMS   REPORT DRUNK DRIVERS

Drunk Busters

Drunk Busters is a system which allows good drivers to quickly and effectively report suspected DWI drivers through the use of a toll-free number and cell phone convenience key.
877-394-4258 (877 DWI HALT) is the Toll Free Hotline.
#394 or #DWI is the convenience key for cell phone.
DIAL 911

When placing a call to the Drunk Busters Hotline an operator will ask you the following questions (remember, the faster we get this information, the sooner we can dispatch the call to the appropriate enforcement agency):
What is the exact location of the suspected drunk driver? Give the name of the road and a cross road. If traveling on a highway, note the mile marker and the direction of travel.

What is the color, make, model and license plate of the vehicle? These are details which will help us clearly identify a vehicle from others.

Describe what the vehicle is doing. Swerving. Not maintaining their lane or speed. Running into curbs or dividers. These are good indicators of an intoxicated driver.

The operator will ask for your name and telephone number in case we need further information on the suspected driver. All calls may remain anonymous.

Please use common sense when telephoning Drunk Busters. It is a line for suspected drunk drivers and is not intended for reporting common traffic violations, such as speeding or running stop signs.

If you are contacting Drunk Busters from a cell phone while driving a car, please be aware of local ordinances governing cell phone usage. Although, there are no state wide restrictions on using a cell phone while driving in New Mexico, there are local laws restricting cell phone use. Hands-free cell phone accessories must be used while driving a car within certain municipalities.

 

 

 

saferidehome2

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is the act of operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. The operation of a motor vehicle includes being in physical control of the vehicle whether or not the vehicle is moving. In New Mexico, alcohol intoxication constitutes a common, but preventable, cause of traffic crashes.

In spite of making significant progress toward reducing DWI crashes, intoxicated drivers continue to plague New Mexico’s highways and roads. To discourage DWI and to encourage a fundamental change in public attitude, New Mexico has enacted some of the toughest DWI laws in the country.

You are in violation of New Mexico’s DWI laws when you drive a vehicle with a blood or breath alcohol content of .08% or higher, or by driving while impaired due to the influence of alcohol or other drugs.

In many New Mexico counties you can find both commercial and non-profit designated driver programs that will provide a safe ride home from local bars and restaurants in your area. Help ENDWI and yourself by using these low cost or free services to get you home safely. You can also download the ENDWI App for your convenience and use your phone to call for a ride in your area.

Bernalillo County
(505) 999-1400
Pick Me Up-Take Me Home Program

Thursday 10:00pm – 2:00am

Tavern Taxi Program

Friday and Saturday
10:00pm – 2:00am

Dona Ana County
(575) 524-TAXI (8294)
Safe Ride Program

Thursday through Saturday
(most major holidays are included)
5:30pm – 3:00am

COST:

$5/one or two persons
$10/three or four persons
Adults only

Grant County
(575) 388-1813
Corre Cantinas

Friday and Saturday
Covers Silver City, Tyrone, Bayard,
Santa Clara, Hurley and Pinos Altos
5:30pm – 2:00am

COST:

$3.50 each ride

Lea County
(575) 391-2982
Tipsy Taxi

Friday and Saturday from Thanksgiving
to New Year’s Eve
9:30pm – 2:30am

Luna County
(575) 388-3180
Corre Cantinas Safe Ride Program

Friday and Saturday
6:00pm – 1:00am

San Miguel County
(575) 429-0336
Safe-Ride-Home Service

Friday & Saturday Nights and most major Holidays.
8:00pm – 2:30am

COST:

Free

Santa Fe County
(505) 438-0000
Chauffer and Designated Driver Program (CADDy)

Friday, Saturday and some holidays (such as 4th of July and New Year’s Eve)
5:30pm – 2:30am

COST:

$1 per rider up to $25 per ride
(anything over $25 is rider’s responsibility)

Torrance County
(505) 705-0332
Smart Choice Ride

Friday and Saturday
8:00pm – 2:00am
Covers greater Moriarty area

COST:

$5 average

1(888) 422-NMSP
1(888) 422-6677
  • emergency numbers

    NM DWI EMERGENCY


    Drunk Busters
    #DWI (cell phones only)
    1 (877) DWI-HALT
    1 (877) 394-4258

    DIAL 911
    New Mexico State Police
    1 (888) 422-NMSP
    1 (888) 442-6677